National Number: 0861 GO HUGE     

Huge Group Directors

The directors of the Huge Group bring a wide range of skills, expertise and knowledge to the group.

Non-Executive Directors

Dr Duarte da Silva - Non-executive Chairman

DPhil (Eng)

Appointed: 1 March 2016

Member of: Investment Committee (Chairman); Remuneration Committee (Chairman); Risk Committee

james_herbstDuarte has more than 20 years’ experience in the investment industry. He holds a doctorate of Philosophy in Engineering from the University of the Witwatersrand, which he obtained at the age of 24. Until recently he was Chief Executive Officer of Macquarie First South (MFS), a joint venture established in 2006 between Macquarie Bank of Australia and First South Financial Services, and is a past director of Merrill Lynch South Africa (Merrill Lynch).

Vincent Mokhele Mokholo - Non-Executive Director


Appointed: 2 July 2007

Member of: Remuneration Committee; Social and Ethics Committee

james_herbstVincent has worked in the telecommunications industry for the last 17 years. He assumed the role of Client Services Director when TelePassport and CentraCell formed Huge Telecom, and was responsible for bedding down the operations and service deliverables of the combined entity. He has also completed a mini MBA (Telecoms) with Informa Telecom academy, based in the United Kingdom.

Stephen Peter Tredoux - Lead Independent Non-Executive Director

Appointed: 26 March 2008

Member of: Audit Committee; Risk Committee; Social and Ethics Committee (Chairman)

james_herbstSteve started his working career as an accountant but moved to general management where he worked in the property management and manufacturing industries. He has considerable experience in sales distribution but is also a master of marketing and product development.

Dennis Robert Gammie - Independent Non-Executive Director


Appointed: 29 June 2012

Member of: Audit Committee (Chairman); Nomination Committee (Chairman); Remuneration Committee; Risk Committee (Chairman)

james_herbstDennis is a CA(SA) and has previously served as the Financial Director of the Imperial Group, Murray & Roberts Materials and the Aveng Group. Prior to taking early retirement, Dennis served as an executive director on the board of the Aveng Group, where he was Chairman of the Growth Committee, the Tender Risk Committee, and acting Managing Director of an Aveng Group subsidiary company for a time.

Craig Lyons - Independent Non-Executive Director

B.Comm, D.Soc

Appointed: 3 July 2017

Member of: Audit Committee; Investment Committee; Nomination Committee

Craig is an experienced and accomplished investment banker and businessman with extensive strategic, management and finance experience gained in various industries and from having developed and led a number of pre-eminent businesses in Southern Africa. He actively participates as an independent director on various company boards, committees and investment funds.  Some of his career highlights include successfully co-founding, leading and managing two South African investment companies, one of which was listed on the JSE.  He has spear-headed a number of high profile investment transactions in a multitude of sectors with a combined transaction value in excess of R28 billion. Craig holds a B.Comm from the University of the Witwatersrand and a D.Soc from Oxford University in the United Kingdom, where he majored in Economics.

Brian Armstrong - Independent Non-Executive Director

BSc, MSc, PhD

Appointed: 1 September 2017

Member of:  Nomination Committee; Risk Committee

Brian has more than 30 years of top level management experience in telecommunications, IT, technology research and development and systems engineering, both in South Africa and internationally. He presently holds the position of Professor in the Chair of Digital Business at Wits Business School and previously held the positions of Group Chief Operating Officer and Group Chief Commercial Officer at Telkom SA SOC Limited. Prior to joining Telkom in 2010, Dr Armstrong was the Vice President for Middle East and Africa at the BT Group Plc. He has also held positions at the CSIR, ultimately as the Director of the Division for Information and Communications Technology. He was the Managing Director of listed ICT services Group AST Networks (now Gijima).

Executive Directors

James Charles Herbst - Chief Executive Officer

BComm, BAcc, CA(SA), Chartered Financial Analyst

Appointed: 1 September 2006

Member of:  Investment Committee

james_herbstJames is a CA with sound experience in corporate finance, corporate law, investment banking and investment management, and listed Huge Group on the Alternative Exchange of the JSE in August 2007. Since his appointment as CEO, James has been instrumental in integrating Huge’s two principal telecommunications businesses, which have been combined to form Huge Telecom.sses, which have been combined to form Huge Telecom.

Zunaid Bulbulia - Chief Financial Officer

BComm, BCompt, CTA, CA(SA)

Appointed: 27 March 2017

Member of:  Investment Committee; Social and Ethics Committee

james_herbstZunaid has more than 20 years’ experience in the telecommunications industry and was one of the founding members of the MTN team. During his 20 years with MTN South Africa he served as Financial Manager and in various General Manager positions. He was appointed Chief Executive Officer of MTN South Africa in May 2013, and in August 2014, he was appointed Group Chief Operations Executive of MTN Group Limited. He left MTN Group in December 2015 to pursue various business opportunities.  Zunaid was initially appointed as a non-executive director on 28 January 2016.

Karen Robinson - Company Secretary


Appointed: 1 September 2017

Member of:  Social and Ethics Committee

Karen is an experienced Company Secretary and an advocate of the High Court. She holds LLB and LLM degrees and is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries. Karen was previously the Company Secretary of Aveng, Gold Fields and FedGroup.  She is a director of the Chartered Secretaries of Southern Africa.

Ready to Find Out More?

Contact Us Today!